Frank Ocean Insists He’s “Paying Homage” to The Eagles

We discussed earlier this week how Don Henley of The Eagles was threatening to file legal action against Frank Ocean for Frank’s track “American Wedding” which samples the classic hit “Hotel California.” After Frank responded and said he thought it was “fucking awesome” that Henley was threatening to sue, Frank took to his Tumblr last night to further address the issue.

“I guess if I play it at Coachella it’ll cost me a couple hundred racks. If I don’t show up to court, it’ll be a judgement against me and will probably show up on my credit report. Oh well. I try to buy my shit cash anyway. They also asked that I release a statement expressing my admiration for Mr.Henley, along with my assistance pulling it off the web as much as possible. Shit’s weird. Ain’t this guy rich as fuck? Why sue the new guy? I didn’t make a dime off that song. I released it for free. If anything I’m paying homage.”

Now apparently, the word on the street is that Don Henley didn’t actually call for legal action himself but it was his label, Warner Music Group. In fact, Don doesn’t think Frank is “paying homage” at all and claims his usage of the beat isn’t just a sample, but actually the whole melody. Is Frank going to perform this during his next live set? Who really knows…

– @Bird_Burgess

Comments on Urban Providals

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

